The composition of the commission reflects the broad coalition that believes in the need for change. Chaired by Professor Louise Hayward, the commission includes educators, students, parents, universities, business and employment leaders, equalities and other experts. The commission is funded by the National Education Union.


Professor Louise Hayward

Louise Hayward is Professor of Educational Assessment and Innovation at University of Glasgow.

She was a member of the internationally-renowned Assessment Reform Group and has published widely on assessment and processes of change. Originally a teacher, Louise is committed to working with policymakers, practitioners and researchers to co-construct better assessment policy and practice.

In 2018, Louise founded the International Educational Assessment Network, a group of researchers and policymakers from 12 nations who collaborate to tackle some of the more intransigent assessment challenges. Currently, Louise is working with OECD on the Learning 2030 programme and UNESCO on Assessment in STEM education.


Robin Bevan

Robin Bevan is an experienced headteacher, having been at Southend High School for Boys – an ‘outstandingly successful’ school – since September 2007. He is the National Education Union (NEU) National President for the 2020/21 academic year.

Robin was an ATL workplace union representative, was active in the Essex Branch of ATL for nearly 20 years and was a school leader member of AMiE National Council for five years. He actively campaigned for the amalgamatio...


Matthew Percival

Matthew Percival is People and Skills Policy Director at the Confederation of British Industry (CBI).

Matthew is responsible for the CBI’s policy development and campaigns on the interactions between employers and their workforce. This work aims to ensure that the UK is a great place to create jobs and invest in people.

It includes campaigns on education, training, employee engagement, immigration, diversity and inclu...


Professor Dame Alison Peacock

Professor Dame Alison Peacock is Chief Executive of the Chartered College of Teaching, a professional body that seeks to raise our status through celebrating, supporting and connecting teachers to provide expert teaching and leadership.

Prior to joining the Chartered College, Dame Alison was Executive Headteacher of The Wroxham School in Hertfordshire. Her career to date has spanned primary, secondary and advisory roles. She is an Honorary Fellow of Quee...


Professor Vini Lander

Vini Lander is Professor of Race and Education and Director of the Centre for Race, Education and Decoloniality in the Carnegie School of Education.

Vini’s research focuses on race, ethnicity and education. She uses critical race theory as a theoretical framework to examine ‘race’ inequalities in education, specifically in teacher education.

The persistence of educational inequality from early years to hi...


Olly Newton

Olly Newton is Executive Director of the Edge Foundation, where he oversees a programme of primary research, is lead author on the charity’s reports and runs the Edge Future Learning delivery programme for schools and colleges.

Olly spent 12 years in the Department for Education working on policies including 14-19 diplomas, raising the participation age and finally as Head of Apprenticeship Strategy.



Kerry-Jane Packman

Kerry-Jane Packman is the Executive Director of Programmes, Membership and Charitable Services for Parentkind.

She arrived at Parentkind in February 2018 from Tomorrow’s People, where she was Director of Fundraising and Marketing. Prior to that, Kerry-Jane worked as Director of Resource Development and Communications for International Medical Corps UK.

She has 20 years’ experience of working within the ch...


Professor Dominic Wyse

Dominic Wyse is Professor of Early Childhood and Primary Education, University College London (UCL), Institute of Education (IOE). He is Founding Director of the Helen Hamlyn Centre for Pedagogy (0-11) (HHCP) and current President of the British Educational Research Association (BERA).

The main focus of Dominic’s research is curriculum and pedagogy. His work includes significant attention to national curriculum and assessment policies. He has contributed...


Jo-Anne Baird

Professor Jo-Anne Baird is Director of the Department of Education, University of Oxford. Her research interests are in educational assessment, examination standards, marking and assessment design.

She is a member of Ofqual’s Standing Advisory Group and Chair of AQA’s Research Committee. She advises governments and international bodies and was Standing Adviser on Education to the UK Parliament’s House of Commons Select Committee on Education....


Salsabil Elmegri

Salsabil Elmegri is the Vice President, Further Education, of the National Union of Students (NUS) where she is elected to represent the views of FE learners across the UK.

Prior to her current role, Salsabil studied Access to HE in Biology and Chemistry and was Vice President, Education and Welfare, at Bradford College Students’ Union. Her work includes climate change activism, mental health champion and advocating on the behalf of students....

What we've done &
What we're doing.

Subscribe to our newsletter for the latest news and updates from A NEW ERA.